Wonderfully Exciting Weekend

This was a good weekend.  One of the best in a long time.  Why?  Because I did laundry at my own house.

IMG_7368

The past couple of months have been a little busy, alright, a lot busy.  We bought a new house in June and moved in several weeks after closing.  We bought the house for the location and are slowly, very slowly, making it our own.  We’ve got a long, (long) way to go, but this weekend we were one step closer.

IMG_6706

I’m not trying to pretend I don’t look like this–somehow trying to be a working Mom and still giving my family my all.  Hashtag, hotmess.

When we bought the house, Mark had the brilliant idea of adding a laundry room to the upstairs floor.  I am sure he loathed mentioning the idea many, many, times throughout the process.  But, he and my Dad did about 75% of the work.  I truly believe that with my Dad, all things are possible.  We intended on it all being DIY, but after 5 months without a working laundry room in our house, it was time to call in the professionals.

IMG_2257 IMG_2260 IMG_2262 IMG_2495 IMG_7368 IMG_7369

The house is 4 bedrooms and the fourth was larger than we would ever need with a closet of similarly large proportions.  The perfect space to steal and add the laundry.  We moved the door to the bedroom, added a closet to the re-imagined space, took the doors off of the existing closet, and opened up the entry way.

While the final project isn’t completely done, nothing I do ever is, it is so much better.  And, we don’t have to load our laundry into the bike trailer to haul to our parents’ houses.  Although, I did have a few sweet dates with my girl at the laundromat.

IMG_7315

And, as our future is all about house projects.  Here’s what we are working on next…

IMG_7364

Yes, it is every bit as pink as it looks.  Beware.

Leave a Reply

